Episode 1 – Escape to a sunny afternoon with uplifting music by Alesso, Swedish House Mafia, Fisher, Dom Dolla, John Summit and Calvin Harris

June 28, 2023

For this first episode I featured recent releases from some of my favorite artists – including Alesso, Swedish House Mafia, and Calvin Harris.

In the opening track, Lost Frequencies really captured a sound that I think represents the feeling I wanted to create with this episode. In the next track, Mau P’s remix of Calvin Harris & Ellie Goulding’s “Miracle” really transformed the song, but kept the iconic piano riff which I really liked. Of course I had to include some progressive house tracks by DubVision and Third Party, followed by a callab between Vintage Culture and Franky Wah, two artists I’ve been really loving lately. Also had to include at least one track from the Anjunabeats label — Jerome Isma-Ae’s “In The Dark” features synth in the latter part of the song in they key of D Minor that really connected with me – I always love a good minor key synth.

I followed up with some of big summer festival house tracks by Meduza, MK, Dom Dolla and John Summit. I especially liked the Gorgon City remix of John Summit’s latest song “Where You Are.” And I had to include a track by Fred again.., arguably my favorite artist at the moment. If you haven’t seen his Boiler Room set from last year on YouTube, it’s definitely a must watch.

Also included two of the hottest tracks in the dance world at the moment, Fisher’s highly anticipated “Take It Off” and Dom Dolla’s collab with Nelly Furtado “Eat Your Man,” which brings me back to the golden Nelly Furtado era when she released her 2006 album that featured Maneater, Promiscuous Girl and Say It Right. We need another Timbaland & Nelly Furtado renaissance.

Finished off with a Skrillex track, followed by Duke Dumont’s “The Chant” – love the chord progression in this one; his tracks always have such a unique sound. And finally two of my favorites on this week’s episode – Matt Fax’s “Underwater” really evokes some emotion, and Joseph Crime & Rebel of Sleep – Around Us is just an incredible track. I love the name Rebel of Sleep too, as I can’t ever sleep and would consider myself a rebel of sleep as well 🙂

Full track list below. Enjoy your holiday weekend!   

  1. Isak Danielson – Broken (Lost Frequencies Cut)
  2. Calvin Harris, Ellie Goulding – Miracle (Mau P remix)
  3. Swedish House Mafia feat. Fridayy – See The Light 
  4. Alesso – Without You
  5. DubVision – P.R.O.G.2
  6. Third Party – Thee Chords (Feel So High) 
  7. Vintage Culture, Franky Wah – Alive 
  8. Jerome Isma-Ae, Weekend Heroes – In The Dark 
  9. GENESI – Everything You Have Done (Meduza edit)
  10. Fred again.., Skrillex & Four Tet – Baby again..
  11. MK & Dom Dolla – Rhyme Dust
  12. John Summit, Hayla – Where You Are (Gorgon City remix) 
  13. Steve Brian feat. Christian Carcamo – Us (Axis remix) 
  14. ACRAZE vs. Bob Sinclar feat. Steve Edwards – World Hold On vs. Take Me Away (Rick Wonder edit)
  15. Noise & Westend feat. No/Me – Push To Start
  16. Nelly Furtado, Dom Dolla – Eat Your Man
  17. FISHER & Aatig – Take It Off
  18. Chris Lake & Aluna – Beggin’
  19. Skrillex & BEAM – Selecta 
  20. Duke Dumont – The Chant
  21. Matt Fax & x.o.anne – Underwater
  22. Rebel of Sleep & Joseph Crime – Around

Share This